… on shame and vulnerability

So recently I’ve been reading few books on family psychology where they explain it very explicitly how all those patterns we carry around are being formed in our childhood etc. But this TED talk has really hit me tonight. It really made me feel my shame and fear of vulnerability I’m hiding deep inside.

Brene Brown in her 20 min talk summarizes her research on shame and vulnerability. But I guess it is not only her words that touch me so deeply but also her warm manner of speaking. Essentially shame, she says, is fear of disconnection. To be connected with others is the most important emotional need of all the human beings. But in order to be really connected with someone we have to allow ourselves to be seen, to be truly seen. And that means to be vulnerable.

 

And here is another talk where Brene Brown talks more about the shame and specially about the different ways women and men are experiencing shame. Oh yes, that one really hurt or, rather, opened the wound…  The greatest woman’s shame: not being good enough, not being perfect enough.

 

One thought on “… on shame and vulnerability

  1. When he is back home, the dinner is ready steaming, the house is tidy, I wearing nice clothes and guess what, I don’t spend lots of money to have it done as well =)

    Imagine the opposite, no dinner, house is a mess, I went shopping and bought another LV bag. But I am super vulnerable and lovely…

Share Your Thoughts

